Home

foreclosure

In two thousand six, everything was wonderful.
This was the year of Google; the year of the Euro,
Everyone their beautiful dreams on a nice photo,
With money in mutual funds, I was such a fool.

I had a house in a nice neighborhood,
Now for sale like those of all my friends; gone
Too broke to pay their debts. There was no one
To warn us against banks evicting us from the hood.

I had one buddy left but he was desperate;
I can’t see him now b’cause he is in prison.
He blew a bomb when he lost his spirit,
If I despair too much; better pay attention!
But what can one guy fucking do,
When there nothing left to pay for a beer,
When he is tired to be unemployed out on the street?
But where can one guy fucking go,
When there is nothing left to feed the meter,
When he is tired sleeping in his car on the street?

I don’t know what to say to my children. No.
There are either too young or too old. So.
There are two or three who have left the block,
Even Wal-Mart has added my oldest to its flock.

I had one buddy left but he was desperate.
I can’t see him now b’cause he is in prison.
He blew a bomb when he lost his spirit
If I despair too much; you better pay attention!

There is champaign at 55 Wall Street,
And mace for those us on the street.
Occupy, Occupy yourself, if you choose
B’cause we all have the Wall Street Blues.

While I am working on a short story entitled “Proud to be Canadian”, I took the time to adapt one of my favorite songs from Beau Dommage, a French group out of Quebec. This song “le Blues de la metropole” really captured the mood of the Quebecer in 1967. Only a few songs can do this. In adapting this song in English, I decided to use its magic by talking a more contemporary subject “The Wall Street Blues”

Leave a Reply

