Home

250px-Creation_of_Light

Darkness into it, as a moth, I must take flight.
A crucible fleeing to make a new alloy of smelting light.
As I enter darkness, I have my first taste of black.
In my colored mind; the last light is given back,
And up above, I am pulled below by the darkness of earth.
To again see light in the sky, must I first crawl into the dirt?
Just to stand again; heavy with heart, carrying this plague of darkness.
Light of my house, am I just seeing the fallacies of my hopelessness?

This was an interesting poem for me to write. It was an attempt at creating movement within the poem with darkness advancing and light retreating. I used very structured rhymes as I wanted the boundaries between light and darkness to be well defined. Finally the second movement in the poem was the descent within the lines.

Leave a Reply

